Fems For Dems

MI State Senate Races

MI State Senate

Michigan State Senate Candidates

Click here to find your district number based on your street address or zip code

The following are Democratic candidates for 2018 Michigan State Senate races that Fems for Dems is following.



State Senate Candidate for District 12, including: Addison Township, Auburn Hills, Bloomfield Township, Independence Township, Keego Harbor, Oakland Township, Orion Township, Oxford Township, Pontiac, Southfield Township, Sylvan Lake and Village of Clarkston.

This seat is currently held by Jim Marlowe who is term-limited out.

mallory Mcmorrow.jpg

Mallory mcmorrow

State Senate Candidate for District 13, including: Berkley, Birmingham, Bloomfield Hills, Clawson, Rochester, Rochester Hills, Royal Oak and Troy.  

This seat is currently held by State Senator Marty Knollenberg. 

Jeremy Moss 2.jpg

Jeremy moss

State Senate Candidate for District 11, including: Farmington, Farmington Hills, Ferndale, Hazel Park, Huntington Woods, Lathrup Village, Madison Heights, Oak Park, Pleasant Ridge, Southfield

This seat is currently held by is held by Democratic Senator Vincent Gregory, who is term-limited out.


Michigan State Senate - General Information (source Ballotpedia November 2017) 

38 State Senators as of November 2017: Democrats - 11, Republicans - 27, No vacancies.  

The Senate is the upper house of the Legislature. Its members are elected on a partisan basis for four-year terms concurrent with the election of the governor of Michigan. The Senate consists of 38 members elected from single-member election districts. Each member represented an average of 260,096 residents, as of the 2010 Census.[18] After the 2000 Census, each member represented 261,538.[19] Senators' terms begin at noon on January 1 following their election. The Senate chamber in the State Capitol is located in the south wing of the building. Following the 2010 elections, Republicans held a majority of seats in the Senate with 26; Democrats held 12 seats. Under the Michigan Constitution, the lieutenant governor of Michigan serves as President of the Senate but may only cast a vote in the instance of a tie. The Senate selects its other officers and adopts its own rules of procedure at the start of a new legislative session.